Actives & Acids

Best Exfoliating Body Wash

A wash is on your skin for about forty seconds, which is the fact that decides this whole category. Four acid body washes ranked on what the brand actually publishes, which acid suits which complaint, and the one honest reason to buy a leave-on instead.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Buy CeraVe SA Body Wash for Rough & Bumpy Skin if you want one bottle to do the whole job. It is the only wash here that puts three ceramides, niacinamide and hyaluronic acid in with the acid, which matters because the main risk of washing a whole body with an exfoliant daily is not under-treating it but stripping it. If your complaint is specifically breakouts on the back, shoulders or chest, buy Cetaphil Acne Relief Body Wash instead: it is the only product on this page sold as an over-the-counter acne drug, which is why it is the only one with a percentage you can hold the brand to — salicylic acid 2%.

Now the honest part, before the picks. A body wash is on your skin for roughly the length of time it takes to lather and rinse, and then it goes down the drain. A leave-on acid sits there for hours. That difference is not a detail — it is the ceiling on what any product here can do, and it is why we rank these as maintenance rather than as treatment. If a body complaint is not responding, the fix is almost never a stronger wash; it is adding a leave-on, which we rank separately at best chemical exfoliant for body. Every price below is live and dated, every specification is read from a published label on the date in the Sources block, and we own no units. Our method is in how we pick.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on formulation, stated concentration and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these products — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
CeraVe SA Body Wash for Rough & Bumpy Skin

CeraVe SA Body Wash for Rough & Bumpy Skin

The one to buy if a wash has to be the whole routine. It is the only acid body wash here that puts barrier ingredients in the bottle alongside the acid — three ceramides, niacinamide and hyaluronic acid — and the only one carrying a polyhydroxy acid as well. The trade is that CeraVe will not tell you how much salicylic acid is in it.

Best overall
$13.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Cetaphil Acne Relief Body Wash (2% Salicylic Acid)

Cetaphil Acne Relief Body Wash (2% Salicylic Acid)

The only wash here sold as an over-the-counter acne drug rather than a cosmetic, which is why it is the only one with a percentage you can hold the brand to: salicylic acid 2%, the ceiling for an OTC acne product. For back, shoulder and chest breakouts it is both the strongest documented option and the cheapest per ounce.

Best for body acne & best value
$7.97 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Naturium The Smoother Glycolic Acid Exfoliating Body Wash

Naturium The Smoother Glycolic Acid Exfoliating Body Wash

The most transparent label in the category: 5% glycolic acid, a stated pH of 4.25 to 4.75, 500 mL and a full ingredient list. Read that pH before you buy — it sits above glycolic acid's pKa, so a good deal of the acid is present as a salt rather than in the free-acid form, which is the honest reason this is a smoothing wash rather than a treatment.

Best AHA for rough, dull skin
$16.88 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
TOUCH Keratosis Pilaris Exfoliating Body Wash (15% Glycolic Acid)

TOUCH Keratosis Pilaris Exfoliating Body Wash (15% Glycolic Acid)

The strongest stated acid content of any wash here by a wide margin, and the one we can tell you the least about. The listing claims 15% glycolic acid with salicylic acid alongside it; we could find no brand-hosted page publishing a full ingredient list or a pH, so that figure is a marketplace claim rather than a label we have read. Worth a look only once gentler washes have failed you.

Strongest stated acid
$29.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
PanOxyl Acne Foaming Wash (10% Benzoyl Peroxide)

PanOxyl Acne Foaming Wash (10% Benzoyl Peroxide)

Top-strength 10% benzoyl peroxide for stubborn body and back acne. It works, but 10% is heavy-handed for the face — most faces fare better at 4%, and everyone should brace for dryness.

Best when an acid is not enough
$9.89 · View on Amazon

$10.677% off

Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

CeraVe SA Body Wash for Rough & Bumpy Skin

The one to buy if a wash has to be the whole routine. It is the only acid body wash here that puts barrier ingredients in the bottle alongside the acid — three ceramides, niacinamide and hyaluronic acid — and the only one carrying a polyhydroxy acid as well. The trade is that CeraVe will not tell you how much salicylic acid is in it.

Strengths

  • Three ceramides (NP, AP, EOP) plus niacinamide and hydrolyzed hyaluronic acid, so it cleans without stripping
  • Gluconolactone sits sixth on the list — a polyhydroxy acid, the gentlest exfoliating class
  • "Free of Added Fragrance" and non-comedogenic per CeraVe's own page

Trade-offs

  • No salicylic acid percentage published anywhere, and the acid sits sixteenth on the ingredient list, below sodium chloride
  • The smallest bottle here at 10 fl oz, so cost per wash is higher than the 16.9 oz rivals
  • Marketed for keratosis pilaris, which it manages rather than clears
Key activeSalicylic acid + gluconolactone (PHA)
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatGel body wash
Fragrance-freeYes
Best forDry, Rough or bumpy, Sensitive

Formulation note. Read from CeraVe's own page: water, cocamidopropyl hydroxysultaine, glycerin, sodium lauroyl sarcosinate, niacinamide and gluconolactone lead, with ceramides NP, AP and EOP, then salicylic acid sixteenth, and hydrolyzed hyaluronic acid, cholesterol, cholecalciferol and phytosphingosine below it. The salicylic acid is undeclared as a percentage and sits low in the list — this is a barrier-friendly cleanser with an acid in it, not an acid treatment.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on October 17, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best for body acne & best value

Cetaphil Acne Relief Body Wash (2% Salicylic Acid)

The only wash here sold as an over-the-counter acne drug rather than a cosmetic, which is why it is the only one with a percentage you can hold the brand to: salicylic acid 2%, the ceiling for an OTC acne product. For back, shoulder and chest breakouts it is both the strongest documented option and the cheapest per ounce.

Strengths

  • Salicylic acid 2% declared as the active ingredient — the highest published BHA figure in this group
  • 16.9 fl oz for roughly half what the mid-priced rivals cost, which matters on a body-sized area
  • Fragrance-free, paraben-free, sulfate-free and hypoallergenic per Cetaphil's own page

Trade-offs

  • Built as a drug product, not a barrier product: no ceramides and no niacinamide
  • Contains benzyl alcohol and soybean-oil derivatives, which a small number of people react to
  • A BHA wash is the right tool for follicular breakouts and the wrong one for flat, rough texture
Key activeSalicylic acid 2% (OTC acne active)
Stated concentration2%
FormatCreamy body wash
Fragrance-freeYes
Best forAcne-prone, Oily, Sensitive

Formulation note. Read from Cetaphil's own page: active ingredient salicylic acid 2%. Inactives include benzyl alcohol, shea butter, cocamidopropyl betaine, glycerin, soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, lactic acid, lauric, palmitic and stearic acid, sodium lauroyl glycinate and sodium lauroyl isethionate. The lactic acid is almost certainly a pH adjuster rather than a second exfoliant, and no pH figure is published.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on October 17, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best AHA for rough, dull skin

Naturium The Smoother Glycolic Acid Exfoliating Body Wash

The most transparent label in the category: 5% glycolic acid, a stated pH of 4.25 to 4.75, 500 mL and a full ingredient list. Read that pH before you buy — it sits above glycolic acid's pKa, so a good deal of the acid is present as a salt rather than in the free-acid form, which is the honest reason this is a smoothing wash rather than a treatment.

Strengths

  • 5% glycolic acid plus lactic, malic, pyruvic and tartaric acids, all declared, with the glycolic third on the list
  • The only product here that publishes a pH figure at all (4.25 to 4.75)
  • 500 mL, fragrance-free, vegan and dermatologist-tested per the brand's own page

Trade-offs

  • That pH is above glycolic acid's pKa of about 3.8, so the share in active free-acid form is lower than 5% suggests
  • Sodium hydroxide is fourth on the list — the neutralizer is in there in quantity, by design
  • AHAs raise sun sensitivity and the brand's page carries no sunburn alert, so the sunscreen rule is on you
Key activeGlycolic acid 5% + AHA blend
Stated concentration5%
FormatFoaming gel body wash
Fragrance-freeYes
Best forNormal, Rough or bumpy, Dry

Formulation note. Read from Naturium's own page: water, sodium cocoyl isethionate, glycolic acid and sodium hydroxide lead, with cocamidopropyl hydroxysultaine, coconut acid, sodium methyl cocoyl taurate, then lactic, malic, pyruvic and tartaric acid, sodium PCA and glycerin following. Stated pH 4.25 to 4.75. The brand's directions suggest leaving it on "for a few minutes" before rinsing, which is the only contact-time instruction any wash in this group gives.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on October 17, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Strongest stated acid

TOUCH Keratosis Pilaris Exfoliating Body Wash (15% Glycolic Acid)

The strongest stated acid content of any wash here by a wide margin, and the one we can tell you the least about. The listing claims 15% glycolic acid with salicylic acid alongside it; we could find no brand-hosted page publishing a full ingredient list or a pH, so that figure is a marketplace claim rather than a label we have read. Worth a look only once gentler washes have failed you.

Strengths

  • The listing states 15% glycolic acid plus salicylic acid — an AHA and a BHA in one rinse-off
  • Aimed squarely at keratosis pilaris rather than repurposed from a face range
  • Sold as sulfate-free, with aloe and sodium hyaluronate in the formula per the listing

Trade-offs

  • No brand-hosted ingredient list or pH we could read, so the 15% is unverified against a label
  • Roughly double the price of the 500 mL rivals, for a bottle the listing does not size
  • A high stated AHA percentage on a rinse-off is a sun-sensitivity question with no sunburn alert we could verify
Key activeGlycolic acid (listing states 15%) + salicylic acid
Stated concentrationNot published
FormatFoaming body wash
Fragrance-freeNot published
Best forRough or bumpy, Normal

Formulation note. Read from the Amazon listing, because we could not find a brand-hosted product page publishing the formula. The listing names 15% glycolic acid, salicylic acid, aloe vera and hyaluronic acid, and describes the wash as sulfate-free. No pH figure and no complete ingredient list appear on a source we could verify, which is why this sits last of the four on our transparency criterion despite carrying the highest stated strength.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on October 17, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best when an acid is not enough

PanOxyl Acne Foaming Wash (10% Benzoyl Peroxide)

Top-strength 10% benzoyl peroxide for stubborn body and back acne. It works, but 10% is heavy-handed for the face — most faces fare better at 4%, and everyone should brace for dryness.

Strengths

  • 10% benzoyl peroxide — the strongest you can buy over the counter
  • Inexpensive and effective on body acne
  • Being a quick wash, it irritates less than a 10% leave-on would

Trade-offs

  • 10% is frequently too drying for the face, where 4% is the softer choice
  • It bleaches fabric, so ease it into your routine
Key activeBenzoyl peroxide
Stated concentration10%
FormatFoaming wash
Fragrance-freeNo
Best forOily, Body acne, Resilient

Formulation note. 10% benzoyl peroxide. The acne evidence is strong, but 10% is more than most faces call for — we'd steer facial acne toward the 4% cream wash and save this for the body and back.

Ingredients and claims read from the product listing, on July 18, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Why a wash can only do so much

Two mechanisms limit this category, and neither is about strength.

The first is contact time. Exfoliating acids work by loosening the bonds between dead surface cells, and that takes sustained exposure. A leave-on toner or gel has hours; a wash has the length of a shower, minus the rinse. One brand on this page actually addresses it — Naturium’s own directions say to leave the wash on “for a few minutes” before rinsing, which is the single most useful instruction any of these labels carries, and it is free to follow.

The second is pH, and only one brand here publishes one. An alpha hydroxy acid only does its work in the free-acid form, and how much of it is in that form depends on how far the formula’s pH sits below the acid’s pKa — about 3.8 for glycolic acid. Naturium states a pH of 4.25 to 4.75 for its 5% glycolic wash. That isabovethe pKa, which means a good share of that 5% is sitting as a salt rather than as active acid. We have not deducted points for it, because it is the normal compromise in a surfactant base and because the brand is the only one here honest enough to publish the number at all — but it is the reason a 5% wash and a 5% leave-on are not the same purchase.

How we ranked

Five criteria, applied in this order.

1. Does the brand publish the acid percentage? This category is unusually bad for marketplace copy that advertises figures the brand itself never prints. Only two of our four acid washes publish a strength on a brand-hosted page: Cetaphil’s 2% salicylic acid, which is a declared drug active, and Naturium’s 5% glycolic acid. CeraVe publishes none. The TOUCH wash’s 15% figure comes from its retailer listing, and we have labeled it that way rather than repeating it as a fact.

2. Acid class against the complaint. Salicylic acid is oil-soluble and gets into the follicle, which is where body acne, shoulder breakouts and razor bumps live. Alpha hydroxy acids work on the flat surface: rough texture, dullness, the bumpy backs of the arms. The AHA vs BHA distinction is worth more here than on the face, because body complaints are more often follicular.

3. What else is in the bottle. You are applying this to most of your skin, several times a week, in hot water. A surfactant base with nothing supportive in it will leave a whole body tight. CeraVe is the only one here carrying ceramides, and it carries three of them plus niacinamide.

4. Fragrance, and the pages that admit to it. Three of these are stated fragrance-free by the brand. For the fourth we could not verify either way, which on a product spread across a square foot of skin is a real gap rather than a technicality.

5. Cost per wash. Sticker price is the wrong number. Two of these are 500 mL bottles, one is 296 mL, and one does not publish a size at all. The table above carries today’s live prices — do the arithmetic there.

Which wash for which complaint

Bumpy backs of the arms (keratosis pilaris). This is the complaint most of these products are marketed at. The AAD’s guidance names exfoliation with alpha hydroxy acids — glycolic and lactic — along with salicylic acid, retinoids and urea, so both acid classes here are legitimate. Expect management, not cure, and expect the leave-on to do more of the work: the detail is at glycolic acid for keratosis pilaris.

Breakouts on the back, shoulders and chest. Salicylic acid first, because it is follicular. If a 2% wash has not moved it in six to eight weeks, the next step is benzoyl peroxide rather than a stronger acid — which is why PanOxyl is on this page at all. See benzoyl peroxide for body acne for how to run that without bleaching every towel you own.

Razor bumps and ingrown hairs. A BHA wash helps and the shaving technique helps more. The published review of razor-bump treatment is as firm about clipper length and shaving direction as it is about the acid, and chemical exfoliants for ingrown hairs has the method.

Rough, dull, sun-weathered arms and legs. This is AHA territory and the Naturium wash is the pick, ideally with its own leave-it-on-a-few-minutes instruction followed.

Dark or rough underarms. A wash is the wrong tool — too short a contact time on a small, specific area. Glycolic acid for armpits covers what actually helps and what will not budge.

Crepey or aging body skin. Not an exfoliant problem. A body retinoid is the category with the evidence, and we rank those at best retinol body lotion.

How to use an acid body wash without wrecking your skin

Start at three times a week, not daily, even though every label here permits daily use. Body skin is thicker than facial skin in most places and often tolerates more, but you are treating twenty times the area at once, and the warning signs of over-exfoliation arrive later and more diffusely on a body than on a face — usually as itching in the shower and tight shins rather than as a visibly irritated patch.

Three rules specific to washing with an acid. Use lukewarm water, not hot: hot water strips lipids on its own and the two effects stack. Give freshly shaved skin a night off. And moisturize afterwards every single time — a large freshly exfoliated area loses water fast, and the big ceramide tubs we rank at best ceramide moisturizers are the sensible companion.

Then the sun rule, which people apply religiously to their face and never to their forearms. The FDA’s position on alpha hydroxy acids is that they can increase the skin’s sensitivity to the sun and particularly the possibility of sunburn. Neither AHA wash here carries a sunburn alert on the brand page we read, which does not make the consideration go away. If your arms, chest and shins see daylight, they need sunscreen; our picks are at best sunscreen for acne-prone skin.

What this page does not recommend

Buying a wash instead of a leave-on, if you have a real problem. We would rather lose the sale than pretend otherwise. For established keratosis pilaris, persistent body acne or genuinely rough skin, the leave-on is the product that changes things and the wash is the thing that keeps it changed.

Scrubs, beads and exfoliating gloves alongside an acid. Pick one. Running a physical scrub over skin you are already treating chemically is the most common route to a stinging, shiny, over-done back.

Any of these on the face as a default. Naturium explicitly permits it and the others do not say. Facial skin is thinner, the acid load is higher than most face washes carry, and we rank proper facial options at best salicylic acid and best face wash for acne.

Washes we could not read a label for. Several popular acid body washes publish no ingredient list on a brand-hosted page. One of them is on this list, ranked fourth, with the gap stated in its write-up. We did not add any more.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best exfoliating body wash?

CeraVe SA Body Wash for Rough & Bumpy Skin, for most people. It is the only wash here with three ceramides, niacinamide and hyaluronic acid alongside the acid, which matters when you are washing a whole body several times a week, and it also carries gluconolactone, a gentle polyhydroxy acid. The trade is that CeraVe publishes no salicylic acid percentage. If your complaint is body acne rather than rough texture, Cetaphil Acne Relief Body Wash is the better buy — it declares salicylic acid 2% as a drug active.

Do exfoliating body washes actually work?

As maintenance, yes. As a treatment, only partly, and the reason is contact time: a wash is on your skin for the length of a lather and rinse, while a leave-on toner or lotion has hours. Expect a wash to keep smoother skin smooth and to help mildly bumpy or congested skin. If a complaint is established and stubborn, add a leave-on acid rather than buying a stronger wash.

Salicylic or glycolic acid body wash?

Salicylic acid for anything follicular — back and shoulder breakouts, chest acne, razor bumps and ingrown hairs — because it is oil-soluble and reaches into the pore. Glycolic acid, and alpha hydroxy acids generally, for flat-surface problems: rough texture, dullness and sun-weathered forearms. For the bumpy backs of the arms the AAD's guidance names both classes, so either is defensible and the gentler one is usually the better daily choice.

Can I use an exfoliating body wash every day?

Every label here permits it; we would start at three times a week. You are applying an acid to roughly twenty times the area of your face in hot water, and the tells of over-doing it on a body arrive later and vaguer than on a face — itching in the shower, tight shins, new sensitivity. Build up only if your skin stays comfortable, and keep the water lukewarm.

Will an exfoliating body wash clear keratosis pilaris?

It will soften it while you keep using it, and it will not cure it. Keratosis pilaris is a keratin-plug condition that recurs, and the AAD's guidance is about managing it with exfoliation — alpha hydroxy acids including glycolic and lactic, salicylic acid, retinoids and urea. In practice a leave-on does more of the work than a wash. Judge any of these on whether the bumps are softer, not absent.

Is a 15% glycolic acid body wash better than a 5% one?

Not necessarily, and in this case we cannot tell you. The 15% figure on the TOUCH wash comes from its retailer listing rather than a brand-hosted label we could read, and no pH is published for it — and pH is what decides how much of any AHA is in its active free-acid form. Naturium's 5% is published alongside a pH of 4.25 to 4.75, which is at least a complete picture. A verified 5% with a stated pH is a more useful purchase than an unverified 15% without one.

Do I need sunscreen if I use an AHA body wash?

On anything that sees daylight, yes. The FDA's position on alpha hydroxy acids is that they may increase the skin's sensitivity to the sun and particularly the possibility of sunburn. Neither AHA wash here carries a sunburn alert on the brand page we read, which does not remove the consideration — arms, chest and shins are precisely where people never apply sunscreen and exactly where these products are used.

Can I use an exfoliating body wash on my face?

Naturium explicitly permits it for its wash; the others do not address it. We would not default to it. Facial skin is thinner and more reactive, these formulas are built for a tougher surface, and a face wash chosen for a face is a cheap thing to own separately. If you are treating facial acne or congestion, start with our salicylic acid picks or the acne face wash roundup instead.

Body wash or benzoyl peroxide wash for back acne?

Try the 2% salicylic acid wash first — it is gentler, fragrance-free and cheaper. If eight weeks of consistent use has not moved inflamed back or shoulder acne, benzoyl peroxide is the better-evidenced next step, and PanOxyl's 10% foaming wash is the strongest you can buy over the counter. Be warned that it bleaches fabric, so towels and sheets need handling.

Sources

  • CeraVe — SA Body Wash for Rough & Bumpy Skin (official product page) — The brand's own page. Full ingredient list, in order: Aqua/Water/Eau, Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine, Glycerin, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Niacinamide, Gluconolactone, PEG-150 Pentaerythrityl Tetrastearate, Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate, Zea Mays Oil (Corn Oil), Ceramide NP, Ceramide AP, Ceramide EOP, Carbomer, Calcium Gluconate, Sodium Chloride, Salicylic Acid, Sodium Benzoate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Cholecalciferol, Cholesterol, Phenoxyethanol, Disodium EDTA, Tetrasodium EDTA, Hydrolyzed Hyaluronic Acid, Phytosphingosine, Xanthan Gum, Ethylhexylglycerin — the salicylic acid is SIXTEENTH, below sodium chloride, and gluconolactone (a polyhydroxy acid) is sixth. NO salicylic acid percentage is stated anywhere on the page. Claims: "Free of Added Fragrance" ("To avoid fragrance irritation") and non-comedogenic ("Won't clog pores"). Key ingredients named by the brand: ceramides, salicylic acid, niacinamide and hyaluronic acid; lactic acid is NOT in this formula. Directions: "Wet skin with lukewarm water, massage the cleanser into skin in a gentle, circular motion, then rinse," usable anytime. Marketed for rough and bumpy skin, with a dermatologist quote on the page naming keratosis pilaris. The page also states that "CeraVe does not treat underlying skin conditions" and that ingredient lists are updated regularly (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • Cetaphil — Acne Relief Body Wash (official product page) — The brand's own page, and the only product in our body-wash group sold as an over-the-counter acne DRUG rather than a cosmetic. Active ingredient: Salicylic Acid 2%. Inactive ingredients: Benzyl Alcohol, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycerin, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Hydroxypropyl Starch Phosphate, Lactic Acid, Lauric Acid, Palmitic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Benzoate, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Hydroxide, Sodium Lauroyl Glycinate, Sodium Lauroyl Isethionate, Stearic Acid, Tetrasodium EDTA, Water. Claims: fragrance free, paraben free, sulfate free, hypoallergenic, dermatologist tested, and "Defends against 5 signs of skin sensitivity". Directions: "Gently massage this creamy body wash into a rich lather all over the body and rinse well." Marketed as an acne clearing body wash that exfoliates and addresses blemishes and blackheads. No pH figure is published, and no Drug Facts warnings panel appears on the page (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • Naturium — The Smoother Glycolic Acid Exfoliating Body Wash (official product page) — The brand's own page, and the only body wash in this group that publishes a pH. Stated strength: "5% formaldehyde-free glycolic acid", with a supporting blend of lactic, malic, pyruvic and tartaric acids. Stated pH: 4.25 to 4.75. Size: 16.9 fl oz / 500 ml. Full ingredient list: Aqua/Water/Eau, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Glycolic Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine, Coconut Acid, Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate, Glycol Distearate, Cocamide MIPA, Lactic Acid, Malic Acid, Pyruvic Acid, Tartaric Acid, Sodium PCA, Polyquaternium-73, Polyquaternium-10, Glycerin, Caprylyl Glycol, Didecyldimonium Chloride, Methylpropanediol, Polyquaternium-80, Citric Acid, Tetrasodium Glutamate Diacetate, Sodium Lactate, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Isethionate, Sodium Benzoate — glycolic acid third, sodium hydroxide (the neutralizer) fourth. Claims: fragrance free, cruelty-free, paraben-free, vegan, gluten-free and dermatologist-tested. Directions: "Apply a generous amount to hands, a washcloth, or a loofah and massage into skin. For added benefits, leave on for a few minutes, then rinse thoroughly." Marketed for rough, uneven and bumpy texture, described as "gentle enough for daily use" and usable as a facial cleanser. No sunburn alert or AHA sun-sensitivity warning appears on the page (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • TOUCH — Keratosis Pilaris Exfoliating Body Wash (Amazon retailer listing) — Read from the marketplace listing because we could not locate a brand-hosted product page publishing this formula — which is itself the reason the product ranks last on our transparency criterion. The listing title states "Exfoliating 15% Glycolic Acid body wash with Aloe Vera & Hyaluronic" and names salicylic acid alongside the glycolic acid, describing the wash as sulfate-free and aimed at keratosis pilaris. No pH figure, no complete ingredient list and no bottle volume appear on a source we could verify, so the 15% figure is recorded here as a marketplace claim rather than a label we have read. Verified In Stock with a live price on this date (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • U.S. FDA — Alpha Hydroxy Acids — FDA on AHAs and increased sun sensitivity (accessed July 17, 2026)
  • U.S. FDA — Beta Hydroxy Acids in Cosmetics — FDA on salicylic acid as a beta hydroxy acid (accessed July 17, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — Keratosis pilaris: Diagnosis and treatment — AAD on exfoliating with AHA, glycolic, lactic, salicylic acid, retinoids and urea for KP (accessed August 19, 2026)
  • American Academy of Dermatology — Back acne: How to see clearer skin — AAD self-care for back acne: a benzoyl peroxide foaming wash (5.3% is less irritating; up to 10% is the strongest OTC option) left on for two to five minutes, adapalene 0.1% gel daily, sweat-wicking clothes washed after every workout, non-comedogenic SPF 30 — and a dermatologist if nothing changes in six to eight weeks (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Pseudofolliculitis barbae; current treatment options (PMC) — Ogunbiyi, Clinical, Cosmetic and Investigational Dermatology 2019 — review of ingrown-hair (razor bump) treatment: daily glycolic acid found useful, glycolic and salicylic peels useful, topical keratolytics (retinoids, salicylic acid, AHAs) usable, plus the shaving-practice advice (clippers leaving 1 mm, never dry-shave, shave with the grain) (accessed September 18, 2026)
  • Evaluating the Efficacy and Safety of Alpha-Hydroxy Acids in Dermatological Practice: A Comprehensive Clinical and Legal Review (PMC) — Almeman, Clinical, Cosmetic and Investigational Dermatology 2024 — a narrative review that sets the consumer AHA limits side by side: the 2005 US FDA guidance of no more than 10% AHA at pH 3.5 or higher for over-the-counter use (with SPF formulated in or a label instruction to use one), against the EU SCCS's far more conservative 2000 recommendation of glycolic acid up to 4% at pH of at least 3.8, and Australia's exemption at 20% or less at pH 3.5 or higher (glycolic acid having been listed there as a Priority Existing Chemical after repeated skin-irritation reports). It describes three regulatory tiers — up to 10% for daily home use above pH 3.5, under 30% for trained professionals near pH 3, drug territory above that below pH 3 — notes glycolic acid's small molecular size as the reason it penetrates fastest of the AHAs and mandelic acid's larger molecule as the reason it stings less, and states plainly that "the optimal concentrations for therapeutic efficacy with minimal side effects are yet to be precisely defined." Every efficacy trial it reviews for glycolic acid is a professional peel at 20% to 70%, not a leave-on cosmetic strength (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Comparing 2.5%, 5%, and 10% benzoyl peroxide on inflammatory acne vulgaris (PubMed) — Mills et al. — 2.5% matched 5% and 10% for efficacy with less irritation (accessed August 19, 2026)

Keep reading